top of page
Search

Lessons To Live By and Other's Goals- Mutual teachings

Updated: Feb 25, 2020

When writing my survey, I felt curious on other teenager's life advice. I had spent almost 5 months living by my own advice and focusing on my own path, but deep down I also wondered what other people believed. Reading the 140+ responses, I found many beautiful comments. Here I will insert a few of the answers on the query “What is one lesson you've learned in life?” and “What is something that changed you as a person and helped you grow?” (The answers are anonymous for the participants' privacy. The following responses have been corrected for grammar and punctuation)


  1. I learnt that things happen for a reason and this helped me not stress over things that I can’t change

  2. Being happy, never be afraid of anything. Just live your life.

  3. When making social service you feel like being the best person, and when you are good with others your life is good with you.

  4. Yo diría q hacer servicio social hace que uno aprenda de las demás personas desde un punto de vista diferente y también aprendes a ser agradecido con lo que tienes

  5. Spend time with family

  6. Helping other, more specifically in a less fortunate economical and living conditions, this has opened my eyes to see that there are people living outside my bubble which are going through situations that I've never even had to think of, like what was I going to eat that day.

  7. Make friends anywhere you can, travel, enjoy the little things, don't stress the stupid stuff

  8. Be Respectful, start responding correctly to other people

  9. Entrenar los 7 estilos del Kung Fu

  10. I started meditating after I came back from the Gorgona Islands and this helped me to react emotionally and physically to objects and problems I had with my parents and with my personal life

  11. I sometimes reflect of all the things I have done good or bad and I think of what can I do better or I try to understand somethings or see in the future and talk about life and that helps me because I can see differently and focus on my studying and the future.

  12. Help kids, gather money for a foundation, help people, and social service.

  13. Study hard and thoroughly research the topics that interest me

  14. Leaving my hometown to study abroad. I recommend it to do it for a while to understand that at any point on your life you may lose those around you, but even then you will be able to thrive and continue your path.

  15. Never give up

  16. the whole lyrics to ‘I’m still standing’ by Elton John

  17. Que la única persona que va a estar contigo en todo momento eres tú.

  18. "Con esfuerzo, todo lo que te propongas lo puedes hacer"

  19. That you can't rely on anyone you must do things by yourself

  20. Every 10,000 mile journey has to begin with one step

  21. that no matter what people say and what happens, just chase your dreams and never give up

  22. You do not imagine how strong you are. You are loved beyond this world. Every person has a cross to bear.

  23. Success is a journey not a destination

  24. Live like you die today

  25. There is no single mantra or lesson that can guide your whole life, but one I could share is from Marcus Aurelius' Meditations (book 4 verse 49): Be like a rocky promontory against which the restless surf continuously pounds; it stands fast while the churning sea is lulled to sleep at its feet. I hear you say, "How unlucky that this should happen to me!" Not at all! Say instead, "How lucky I am that I am not broken by what has happened and am not afraid of what is about to happen. The same blow might have struck anyone, but not many would have absorbed it without capitulation and complaint.

  26. Don't take anything for granted, and don't take things so seriously.

  27. I have learned to live my life, because you never know when you are going to lose it and to never regret a thing.

  28. Be tolerant to others and strict with yourself

  29. Go big or go home

  30. Think outside the box

  31. Carpe diem

  32. Do what makes you happy and don't give others the pleasure of making you feel bad, because if you do, the'll keep doing it

  33. Care for others but never beg for love

  34. Don’t do to others what you don’t want others to do to you, and that if I have a goal I can never give up and always try to reach it.

  35. don't take anything for granted, and don't take things so seriously.

  36. only you can be truly disappointed in yourself, other people just have irrational expectations that they want you to fulfill as they were not able to do so


These are just a few of the hundreds of replies that I got, which all totally inspired me and made me very happy to read. I will be sharing the complete test answers later, for anyone who wants a bit of motivation.


THIS precisely is what inspired me to work on this project, to see how many people are also inspired by these kinds of things, and to learn a little about my peer's dreams and aspirations in life.








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join Me on my Google Meet

Para unirte a la videollamada, haz clic en este enlace: meet.google.com/fjq-fgrm-xib https://meet.google.com/fjq-fgrm-xib

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page